Spring is here. Well, it’s coming right?

Time to make some bug spray.

While we are waiting for Europe to thaw, I thought I would get ready for spring. Spring means bugs. Especially here in Germany; mosquitoes, chiggers and flies are the most annoying so my all-purpose bug spray is for these winged creatures.

You will need the following for this 5 minute project:

  • Vodka – you don’t need the good stuff here
  • Lavender essential oil
  • Tea Tree essential oil
  • Distilled water
  • A repurposed spray bottle

Pimp your repurposed spray bottle, so you can differentiate it from the other bottles in your cupboard. I just used a little washi tape to cover up some of this bottle, mostly because I thought it looked nice already but  also because I am pretty lazy. I am sure someone else would do a better job of this.

Measure out around 50 ml / 2 oz of vodka in a measuring cup, add 20 drops of Tea Tree Oil and 15 drops of Lavender Oil.

march 2013 001

Do you remember how much liquid your bottle will hold?

march 2013 008

Check that now and fill the measuring cup with distilled water to that amount. Stir the mix. I used an immersion blender because I wanted all the oil suspended in little particles but you don’t have to do that, if you don’t want to. Just make sure you shake the bottle before you spray.

This is a really pleasant smelling bug spray. I have used it against mites, which I encountered last year on vacation in Tuscany. This will also keep thrips at bay, if you are bothered by them. Oh yeah, don’t eat or drink it – it’s pretty poisonous.

What do you think?

