Book hangover

Feminist

 

 

I have been in heady book hangover since I finished How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran. I didn’t want to start another book until I stopped giggling about this one. I had exactly the same experience after reading Bossy Pants by Tina Fey – you just ruin something about the last book by jumping into the next book too soon.

I can imagine it is the same thing if you hop from one relationship right into  a new one. You can’t savor the ups and downs of the last one while you are sampling the experiences of the new one. So it’s best to let the old one die out and fade away before you pick up a new one. That is the problem with setting a goal of reading 50 books in one year. Some of the books don’t want to let go of you and you want to hang on to them like a crazed Glenn Close in Fatal Attraction.

I felt like that about many of the books I read this year. Extremely Loud and Incredibly CloseThe Tiger’s Wife, and Mr. Rosenblum’s List: or Friendly Guidance For The Aspiring Englishman come to mind so I am just going to tell you right now. I am not going to make it. I can’t finish my 50 books this year but I might be able to finish up some of the ones I have started. We will have to see how many make it over the finish line by Tuesday.

What do you think?

