Gone Girl – book review

Tampon commercial, detergent commercial, maxi pad commercial, windex commercial – you’d think all women do is clean and bleed.”
― Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl

Gone GirlGone Girl by Gillian Flynn

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

«“Guess what Jeff found in his cabin for me,” Grete says, “another book by the Martian Chronicle guy.” “Ray Bradburrow”, Jeff says. Bradbury, I think. “Yeah, right, Something Wicked This Way Comes,” Grete says, “It’s good”. She chirps the last bit as if that were all to say about a book. It’s good or it’s bad, I liked it or I didn’t. No discussions of the writing, the themes, the nuances, the structure. Just good or bad – like a hot dog.» – Amy Elliot Dunn, Eight Days Gone – Gone Girl

I feel for Grete. It is hard to find something new to say about a book everyone has read. I read many other reviews and admire the deep analysis of the characters and what that might or might not say about humanity. I especially enjoyed the discussion from Three Guys One Book “Flynn does some fairly spectacular things with these two characters, and slowly extracts the air from their lives. She does it with characters, not story, she throws two scorpions in a box and shuts the lid.”.

Not sure I have much more to add to this discussion than dear dim-witted Grete. It’s good, I say with my best Southern drawl. I thoroughly enjoyed Gone Girl. I liked the shifting narration from the perspective of husband Nick and wife Amy. I liked the unexpectedness of the protagonist and antagonist changing roles midstory.

I would not want to meet either of the main characters in a dark alley, but I did love being deceived into thinking that the Amy was a loving wife and that the egotistical Nick was a bad seed. The plot twists have you rooting for an outcome you might normally find shocking, and you might be surprised by your own desire for revenge. The supporting roles of Boney and Go, as well as Amy’s self-involved parents, make for a terrific contrast of dull against Nick and Amy’s sharp wittedness.

It’s good.

View all my reviews

What do you think?

