What I have learned from Julia

“If you’re afraid of butter, use cream.”
― Julia Child

“This is my invariable advice to people: Learn how to cook- try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless, and above all have fun!”
― Julia ChildMy Life in France

My life in France, which I read in 2010, was a wonderful Expat tale. Julia tells about her little adventures at the market, friends they made, troubles with housing, glimpses into a charming marriage and how she found herself while living in Paris. This is the story of how Julia became Julia. And it is all because she went to France and fell in love. She fell in love with butter and pleasing people.  Shortly after I finished this book, I ordered a copy of the cookbook she and her partners put together during this time and although I haven’t broken the binding in this monster work, I have learned a few techniques that have improved the output from our kitchen.

How to properly fry mushrooms as described in my post about Beef Stroganoff.

How to properly fry meat for stews and soups as described in my post about Beef Bourguignon.

How to cook asparagus as I have done many a time during our stay in Germany!

So dear sweet Julia Happy 100th Birthday,  in absentia!

“Find something you’re passionate about and keep tremendously interested in it.”

― Julia Child

“Cooking is like love; it should be entered into with abandon or not at all.”
― Julia Child

What do you think?

