The Flea Markets of France – book review

The Flea Markets of FranceThe Flea Markets of France by Sandy Price

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I enjoyed taking a trip around France with Sandy Price and Emily Laxer. The book was well organized by regions and the pictures gave a good impression of what types of goods you can expect to find. Having stumbled across several of these markets myself I agree with the descriptions, although merchandise will vary from season to season and year to year.

I was a little disappointed that some of the BIG markets were not mentioned like the Braderie de Lille and Foire International markets as I am having trouble myself getting an overview of these. This book will give you a good overview of the big(gish) markets at popular travel destinations. They are regular markets, that are open weekly, so you are sure to find one to match your travel plans.

View all my reviews

If you are visiting some city not listed in the book, you can check with the either of these sites:

BrocoBrac

Vide Greniers

or pick up a copy of the Antiquités Brocante magazine which may also give you some idea what you should be paying for your treasures.

Happy hunting!

5 responses to “The Flea Markets of France – book review

  1. I’ve never been to France but I hope to plan a trip and I LOVE flea markets so maybe this is the perfect book to read for me. : ) Thank you!

    • The quality of the fleas seem to be better here! If you want to visit an experience, check out the Braderie de Lille the beginning of september in the northern city of Lille. It draws over a million visitors. I will be there and blogging about it so stay tuned.

      • I will definitely want to come back and see your blog about that! : ) I know that flea markets started in France so I expect them to be better! Hopefully I will get there soon.

  2. Pingback: Flea market finds from France | Wife – in captivity·

What do you think?

