Becoming a coverlock expert – week 16

I have had a coverlock machine for a couple of years now and could quite honestly not understand the threading instructions given on the video that came with the machine. The video is well produced and shows an animated thread weaving itself into place.  Simple enough until you try to follow along. There is NO pausing the video. The video show threading one of the spools in under 30 seconds.  It looked easy but I could not for the life of me figure out how to do it.

Just to clarify, this was not my first sewing machine or my first overlock machine but it was my first coverlock  and my first Pfaff Coverlock. My other little Bernina overlock was very user-friendly and I spent all of five minutes getting to know the machine before I was whipping up pillow cases and other handy things.

No, a Pfaff is more complicated. It’s German. It needs to know that you want to get to know it before it reveals its secrets to you. Pfaff also fancies themselves as a high-tech company. Distributing only this highly polished video with new machines. No cumbersome threading guide to take up your valuable sewing space. No, now you need to have your laptop with you as you sew.

Since I bought my machine in Norway, my manual was in Norwegian. Not entirely unexpected but my Norwegian sewing vocabulary was lacking so I spent a lot of time looking up words that are being used in a slightly different way then the dictionary was describing to me.

So, I went to Pfaff’s website thinking I could download an English manual but they must be worried about company secrets getting out because you can not download a PDF manual from Pfaff’s web site. You need to send them a mail, or several as was my case. Long story short after many messages and in the end following up on their Facebook page I did finally get the manual for the right machine in just under 6 months. German efficiency at it best!

The English manual had a pretty good description but I still asked for professional help and after a proper demonstration with use of the tweezers provided for this purpose I was ready to thread the single spool in just under 10 minutes.

There are five threads.

This wasn’t going fast enough for me so I signed up for a course at Haugesund’s best sewing school. One Saturday afternoon later and I love my machine and even cracked the code on how to thread it! We collected all our sample stitches along with machine settings on card stock paper and now I have a little book of the four most important stitches my machine pumps out. Only 17 more stitches to try!

We also learned how to sew a t-shirt like a pro and I will be putting up a tutorial for that soon.

What do you think?

