Movies, a great book break

I have pledged to read 50 books this year and I am finding, after only 7, if I hop right to a new book I am not truly able to savor the deliciousness of the last story. So I took a break from reading and have been watching movies. Makes sense, right?

With a lineup that sounds like 2009 Sundance film festival, hubby rolled his eyes and asked if we had actually seen the last Die Hard movie. When I assured him this would be painless and maybe even a little fun, he looked skeptical but he stuck it out.

I am the idealist in the family and hubby is the pragmatist so we had some interesting discussions after the movies and no matter how may Die Hard movies they make, I don’t think I will be able to say the same thing about those.

The Greatest Movie Ever Sold

Morgan Spurlock looks at how the movie industry really makes their money by selling his soul to advertisers. Go POM!

Tapped

Documentary about how the bottle water industry is destroying our planet in three different and deeply disturbing ways.

American Movie

A classic, reminded me a little of Borat.

Food Inc.

A shocking documentary about how the food industry has lost touch with the environment.

The Cove

Horrifying videos from Japan showing the needless and brutal slaughter of 22 000 dolphins every year.

I still have these on my to do list:

A Day Without A Mexican

Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead

So fire up Netflix and pop some corn and widen your horizons. Remember it’s election year. Probably. Somewhere.

One response to “Movies, a great book break

  1. Pingback: Tedox Detox – week 19 | Wife – in captivity·

What do you think?

