National Novel Writing Month is coming! Are you ready?

I had not heard of National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo before this month but when I did I decided this is exactly what a slightly bored expat should do with her time.  When will I ever have the chance to dedicate an entire month to writing a novel?

The contest is 50 000 words in 30 days and I am all in! I have spent the better part of October making decisions about plot, character sketches and consuming large amounts of satirical prose. Well, that is not entirely true, I have also spent a significant amount of time procrastinating about character sketches by creating board after board of pretty things on Pinterest.

To achieve 50 000 words by the 30th of November, one should commit 1 666 words per day to paper or hard disk. I am doing some traveling in November and have set my goal at 2 000 words so I can finish early and watch the others scramble to the finish line.

Now, 50 000 words does not a novel make, so this is just a start, but a cracking start it will be. Last year 200 000 people participated and 30 000 of them completed the 50 000 word challenge.  Almost 900 from just Norway are signed up and ready to go. I haven’t found a soul in Emden with novelist trapped inside them.

So in just 10 days I will become a (temporary) full-time writer. Wish me luck and if you have a novelist trapped inside you, check out the 30 days and nights of literary abandon from The Office of Letters and Light. Google+ has also proved itself useful as a tool to connect to other would-be writers. Just search for NaNoWriMo and start adding people to your circles.

Puh…That was not more than 290 words… this is going to be harder than I thought 😉

5 responses to “National Novel Writing Month is coming! Are you ready?

  1. I do NaBloPoMo every month, but I have never done the novel writing thing, I know many people who have gotten books coming off of doing it, but it just seems like a big commitment. I admire everyone who does it!

    • Never heard of the NaBloPoMo but it probably would have been wiser to start with a blog post every day for a month than a novel in a month. I have been saving up my words for November. I just hope I can dislodge them when the time comes. 😉

  2. You can do it, you can do it, you can do it! And just think: you have done all the prep! This is my 4th year. First year, I did not finish. 2nd year–my 2009 project became a book, Write-A-Thon: Write Your Book in 26 Days (And Live to Tell About It). This year I am continuing last year’s project–a series of children’s chapter books. Of course, I have had no time to prep. So, I am reading your post with just a twinge of jealousy! Happy NaNo!

  3. Pingback: Hotel Atlantic Kempinski – Hamburg | Wife – in captivity·

  4. Pingback: 20 days until 30 days of literary abandon! NaNoWriMo | Wife – in captivity·

What do you think?

