“I don’t pretend to be an ordinary housewife.” Elizabeth Taylor

“My mother says I didn`t open my eyes for eight days after I was born, but when I did, the first thing I saw was an engagement ring. I was hooked.” Elizabeth Taylor

What is happening? Tsunami, atomic reactors overheating, bombing Libya, Jane Russell passing and now Elizabeth Taylor.  I am not sure I want to get out of bed.

So many fond memories of Elizabeth Taylor on the silver screen.* I had almost forgot about Lassie Come Home, National Velvet and Little Women. I could never forget Giant, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, Suddenly Last Summer, Cleopatra and the adorable Taming of the Shrew.

Please world slow down a bit so I can absorb the magnitude of these sad events.

*OK I never saw her on the silver screen just on TV but still, she must have been amazing on a giant screen.

5 responses to ““I don’t pretend to be an ordinary housewife.” Elizabeth Taylor

  1. Hello 🙂 Such a fabulous photo. My favourite quote about Elizabeth Taylor was from Richard Burton, “she was so extraordinarily beautiful that I nearly laughed out loud”. I grew up dreaming of being National Velvet. What an extraordinary, wonderful and inspiring lady she was.

    (I just found you through Expat Women – great blog!)

  2. Hello Frau Dietz! Thanks for stopping by! Tried to check out your blog but I guess you have a family blog. Nice to share details with family and friends without prying eyes. 🙂
    She was extraordinarily beautiful, I miss her and the idea of her very much. I wonder who will be the next Liz Taylor.

    • Oh whoops, I was logged in with my WordPress account, which I don’t actually use! The link on this comment should take you to my blog… which is open to every pair of prying eyes that would like to visit it 🙂

What do you think?

