I think my neighbor has an OCD

Today is a lovely summer day. The temperature is warm, the sky is overcast but bright, and it is raining. It is a wonderful summer rain with thick raindrops, splashing down on big wide leaves making lots of noise. Today is one of the few days I have not awakened to the birds fighting over whose worm. No. Today my neighbor, mowing his lawn, awakens me.

Now why would my neighbor mow his lawn in the rain? I understand the desire to cut the grass. It has been warm and rainy since Saturday, which means that the grass is growing very quickly. It looks shabby. I would also like to mow or weed but not in the rain.

Growing up in Minnesota, where rain showers are always just passing by, we were taught that rain can make you sick and should be avoided. “Get out of the rain or you will catch your death of cold” as Grams used to say. I have often waited under an overhang for the rain to subside before running out to my car. In Minnesota, I did not own a raincoat or rubber boots. Alternatively, I was always ready for snow, Minnesotans take snow very seriously but rain, no, it’s just water.

On moving to Norway, I was taught that you cannot wait out west coast rain. It can rain for weeks without stopping so it is best just to ignore it. A few years ago it rained for 80 days straight in Bergen. You can’t stand under an overhang for 80 days.  West coast Norwegians have a saying “There is no such thing as bad weather just bad clothing”. I get that. However, that phrase pertains more to picnics and general mobility than yard work.

Here in Emden the rain is more like Minnesota rain. With the flat landscape, the rain is just passing through. We can wait it out. Cutting grass in the rain spreads disease say my lawnmower experts, same thing with weeding.

So why the big rush to cut the grass, neighbor? I have asked this question several times this morning and I can only find one answer. He must have obsessive compulsive disorder.

Never mow a wet lawn

Mowing wet grass

No weeding when wet

Today is a lovely summer day. The temperature is warm, the sky is overcast but bright, and it is raining. It is a wonderful summer rain with thick raindrops, splashing down on big wide leaves making lots of noise. Today is one of the few days I have not awakened to the birds fighting over whose worm. No. Today my neighbor, mowing his lawn, awakens me.

Now why would my neighbor mow his lawn in the rain? I understand the desire to cut the grass. It has been warm and rainy since Saturday, which means that the grass is growing very quickly. It looks shabby. I would also like to mow or weed but not in the rain.

https://wifeincaptivity.wordpress.com/wp-includes/js/tinymce/plugins/wpgallery/img/t.gif

Growing up in Minnesota, where rain showers are always just passing by, I learned that rain can make you sick and should be avoided. I have often waited under an overhang for the rain to subside before running out to my car. In Minnesota, I did not own a raincoat or rubber boots. Alternatively, I was very prepared for snow, Minnesotans take snow very seriously but rain, no it’s just water.

After moving to Norway, I learned that you cannot wait out west coast rain. It can rain for weeks without stopping so it is best just to ignore it. West coast Norwegians have a saying “There is no such thing as bad weather just bad clothing”. I get that. However, that phrase pertains more to picnics and general mobility than yard work.

Here in Emden the rain is more like Minnesota rain. With the flat landscape, the rain is just passing through. We can wait it out. Cutting grass in the rain spreads disease say my lawnmower experts same thing with weeding.

So why the big rush to cut the grass, neighbor? I have asked this question several times this morning and I can only find one answer. He must have obsessive compulsive disorder.

2 responses to “I think my neighbor has an OCD

  1. Rain does not make you sick, nor does mowing in the rain cause disease. The only thing rain does is make the grass clump a little. I own a lawn care business and with the weather we’ve had lately, I honestly cant tell you the last time we were able to cut dry grass. Perhaps your neighbor’s productive lifestyle is just conflicting with your laziness of wanting to stay in bed when its already daylight.

    • You could be right my friend. But with the sun coming up at 5:00 am I hope he can wait until after breakfast before the mowing again with or without rain.

What do you think?

