Frohe Ostern! God påske! Happy Easter!

I wandered lonely as a Cloud
That floats on high o’er Vales and Hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd
A host of dancing Daffodils;
Along the Lake, beneath the trees,
Ten thousand dancing in the breeze.

The waves beside them danced, but they
Outdid the sparkling waves in glee: —
A poet could not but be gay
In such a laughing company:
I gazed — and gazed — but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude,
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the Daffodils.

Wordsworth

I wanted to share one of my favorite poems, this the original version published in the 1807 Poems in Two Volumes according to Wikipedia. I rather think this version has better flow without the third verse.  Hope it gives you a springy, contemplative feeling too!

While growing up in Minneapolis Easter meant a pretty new dress, maybe a trip to church, definitely a nice dinner at a restaurant or hotel and ALWAYS an Easter basket. My mother out did herself year after year with wonderful Easter baskets for me. My favorite treats in the basket were marshmallow peeps. Unfortunately, last year I tasted these again with the taste buds of a 40 year old, there went that childhood memory. However, there are plenty of goodies that stand the test of time like Hershey’s peanut butter eggs, jellybeans and of course the hollow bunny (always ears first!).

Easter in Norway is about mountains, snow, and getting in the last ski trip of the season. Treats are cocoa and oranges and definitely KvikLunsj – similar to a Kit Kat bar. Easter eggs filled with goodies are passed out but these are understated, discreet.

Here in Germany I get the feeling I am back in the US. Easter candy in all variations with big bunnies and lambs in milk, dark and white chocolate but still nothing like the artwork we saw in Nice last year. I am making baskets for my nieces and they will most likely be a combination of all of these.

Here in Emden, the neighbors have decorated their trees with Easter eggs and spring is in the air. Spring means yard work, bicycles, and once again neighborly conversations over the fence. Winter this year, has been hard on the garden with the frost upsetting our garden gate. This seems to concern the neighbors deeply as we are now unable to close the gate. I came down stairs the other day to find one of the neighbors adjusting our mailbox, which was crooked from the frost. I think I will take a trip around the garden with a level.

Happy Easter! I would love to hear about your Easter thoughts or memories.

2 responses to “Frohe Ostern! God påske! Happy Easter!

  1. KvikLunsj – is that a real word!? 🙂

    My recent easter memories: SKI TRIPS! I’ve done quite a few with my new friends in Germany. There’s nothing like eating soft-boiled eggs in the morning before schussing down an icy glacier to remind you of Easter. This year it was an Irish friend’s 30th birthday at Fageralm near Salzburg. Fun fun!

What do you think?

